Join Historic Germanna as we commemorate the 160th anniversary of the winter encampment of the Union Army in Culpeper County!
On Saturday, December 9, the 18th century plantation house will be open to the public from 10am to 4pm. In addition to informal house and grounds tours, visitors will be able to interact with living historians portraying camp life and participate in multiple family-friendly, hands-on activities and crafts. Warm up with hot chocolate and other sweet goodies.
The United States Army of the Potomac settled into winter camps across Culpeper County in December 1863. There they remained until May 1864, when they marched off into the Wilderness. The Third Cavalry Division camped on the grounds of Salubria, with General Henry Davies and later James Wilson claiming the house as their headquarters. Elements of the Second (Infantry) Corps were scattered throughout Stevensburg, most notably on Hansbrough’s Ridge, just across Germanna Highway from Salubria.
The event will feature three lectures to learn about different aspects of Salubria’s Civil War experience. At 11am, Historic Germanna Education Manager Shannon Doherty will present “They Came From ‘Over the River’: The Union Army, Slavery, and Emancipation in Culpeper County.”
Then, at 1pm, join a National Park Service Ranger to learn about “Mine Run: The Forgotten Campaign of 1863,” the last battle Union soldiers fought before settling into winter quarters.
Finally, at 3pm, John Hennessy, retired Chief Historian of Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park, will present “Winter of Change: The Union Encampment in Culpeper County, 1863-1864.”
This event is family-friendly and open to the public. Tickets are available for a suggested donation of $10. Get your tickets here!
Don’t miss this opportunity to see Historic Salubria come alive with the sights and sounds of the Civil War.
Historic Salubria is located at 19173 Salubria Lane, Stevensburg, VA, 22741. For questions, call 540-423-1700 or email [email protected].